Course Name Plate Flat

Welcome to DIM – Digital and Interactive Media – Part A

All assignments for this Course will be posted on this page.

The purpose of this course is to introduce you to the process of creating Digital and Interactive Media. This course will give you basic concepts and tools used in the creation of media. We will use the Adobe Suite of products including Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Flash, Premiere Pro, and After Effects. This course is computer and project intensive and provides students with the opportunity to earn 3 hours of credit in Digital Imaging at Austin Community College.

It is highly important students not miss any classroom time as lab resources and times are extremely limited. Access to these programs off site requires significant computing resources and a subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud. The current student pricing is $29.95 a month at www.adobe.com. You cannot use an iPad to run the software in this course.

DIM – A

The first trimester generally covers desktop publishing using Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign all software commonly used for the creation of marketing materials.

DIM – B

The second trimester generally covers web and video production. We will use Photoshop, Web Design, Premiere Pro, and (time permitting) After Effect all commonly used in the production of movies, TV, YouTube, and other video content.

Students missing class for ANY reason will be excepted to schedule tutorial appointments to make up lab time. It is the student’s responsibility to schedule lab tutorials, Mr. Evers will NOT track you down. This is a college level course and you will be treated like a college student. DO NOT get behind in this course.

Here are the Course Guidelines and Procedures for DIM


 

1st Six Weeks Grading period:

Course work, tutorials, exercises, and projects:

Thursday, August 27, 2015

  • Watch this video tutorial regarding basic design tools we use in Adobe Photoshop.
  • Log on to the computer and get familiar with the layout and location of tools in Adobe Photoshop.

Friday, August 28, 2015

  • Review policies and procedures
  • Go over creative commons and digital citizenship
  • Find Photos you will want to use in the creation of your name plate graphic
    • Save them to your U: drive or usb drive

Monday, August 31, 2015

  • How to Train Your Dragon – Animator’s perspective

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Thursday, September 3, 2015

Photoshop Links

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Begin Name Plate Project
Due Thursday, September 10th 4:30 PM
Text Effects Tutorials Link – Company Folders Blog

www.creativecommons.org – For media files that are public domain

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Continue Name Plate Project
Finished? Try another one using a different style

Thursday, September 10, 2015
Finish Name Plate Project – Have Mr. Evers Grade

Friday, September 11, 2015

Begin Sea plate Exercise – Due Monday, Sept 14th
Video Tutorial – YouTube (open with your iPad)

Click for file:
Sea-plate File

Monday, September 14, 2015

  • Finish Name Plate project for Grade (this is Late)
  • Finish SeaShell Plate Exercise for grade (Due today!!)

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Wednesday, September 18, 2015 and Thursday, September 19, 2015

  • Workdays

Friday, September 20, 2015

  • Catch up and grading day

Monday, September 21, 2015

Complete both tutorials using the substitute images provided below. These are due by 5:30 PM –  Tuesday, September 22, 2015

CloudsSunset_Marinamoon

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Thursday, September 24, 2015 –

Begin Game Day/Event Collage Flyer Project (click for instructions)

Friday, September 25, 2015

Complete Game Day/ Event Collage Project

Example of a Club Flyer: Guitar-Club-Flyer

*****Wednesday, September 30th at 6PM is the cut off for all work for the 1st 6 Weeks. No Late work will be accepted after wards***** 

Monday, September 28, 2015 – Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Catch up Days


2nd Six Weeks Assignments and Exercises

Monday and Tuesday, October 5 and 6, 2015

Touch Up  Your Photo Exercise instructions:
Use your photo or a friends and touch up their face in order to get it ready for the magazine cover. Include a side by side, before and after. Due at end of the day (5:45PM), Tuesday October 6, 2015 (2.0 Lab days)

Tutorial links Touch up your photo – Portrait Retouch or Basic Face Retouch  or  Beauty Retouch Overview

 

Thursday, October 8, 2015 until Thursday, October 15, 2015

Begin Magazine Cover Project (click for instructions)
Project Due by the end of the day **Friday, October 16, 2015 (4.5 lab days)*** Date Changed due to PSAT testing***

Helpful tutorials: Fashion Magazine Cover Tutorial – Phlearn Stunning Mag Cover – GQ Mag Cover Full Design for InDesign

Examples of Real Magazine Covers:

time palinsi - new englandseventeen - taylor swiftrolling stone - lennonglamour - reese

Monday, October 19, 2015 – Catch up day

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Magazine Article Assignment

Write 2 short articles based on your Magazine Headlines. Find 2 pictures to match each story and save them to your computer.

Thursday and Friday, October 22 and 23

In Adobe InDesign, combine your magazine cover, articles and pictures for your articles to create a Mini-magazine.

To help you work through this Magazine Layout Video Tutorial (part 1) and then Magazine Layout part2 first. There are also part 3 and 4 if you would like to go through them for personal benefits.

You have Thursday and Friday to complete the assignment.

Spooky Week

Monday, October 26, 2015

Create 2 different Jack-O-Lanterns using Photoshop

Use the Pen tool to draw your pattern. Use layering to add candles and Layer FX to produce internal glow and shadowing

You should finish this by end of the day Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Pen tool tutorials:
Phlearn

Pen Tool Made Easy Tutorial

pumpkin2pumpkinexample:Example pumpkin2copy

pumpkin

 

Wednesday, October 28, 2015 – Friday, October 30, 2015

Take a selfie. Make yourself into a Zombie!!! the scarier the better.
Zombie Video Tutorial
In-Depth Even Cooler tutorial
Skull Face tutorial

Cracked soil photo for zombie:
Cracked Soil

Tuesday, November 2, 2015

***Final Exam Project – Due Tuesday, November 10, 2015***

Final Exam – Course Catalog Contest (6 lab days to complete)

Advertisements